Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy

I have nothing complicated here. Today, I want to discuss how much I love my citrus squeezer. It’s probably one of my top 3 favorite kitchen gadgets of all time.  Sadly, I recently discovered that I am allergic to citrus but prior to finding out that devastating tidbit of information, I used my squeezer at least once a week.  To be honest, I have two of these because I use it so often, one of them is usually in the dishwasher.  

There are several models out there. Trust me when I tell you to spring a little extra dough for a metal one.  The plastic ones will break quickly.  The metal one should last decades.  This particular model is only $16 and it’s worth every penny and more. 

It’s a simple process. You can use this squeezer with lemons, limes, oranges, tangerines, etc. Slice your fruit in half and then place it in the squeezer with the cut side facing the small holes. I know it seems counterintuitive to some people but trust me. The juicy part should be facing the holes. Then clamp down on the sucker and squeeze right over whatever you are making.  It doesn’t require much pressure. A kid could do it. I actually have arthritis in my hands so I have the strength of a baby but I can still squeeze every last drop of juice using my citrus squeezer. And that’s it. Open your squeezer back up and drop the rind in the trash. Voila! Fresh squeezed juice with no pulp or seeds. 

I love using this in my recipes that call for lemon or lime juice.  Both fruits are so cheap, I prefer to use fresh squeezed juice over the artificial stuff.  The squeezer is also great for when you are making mojitos, lemonade, orange juice, salsa, etc. One of the best things about having this tool to make my life easier is that it is dishwasher safe so the clean up is a cinch! 

2 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy

Leave a Reply

